Doing nothing in Lansdowne

As Dilliwaalas, we often yearn for some time when we have nothing to do. For me, it is short trips as these, that give me some time for myself to unburden and rejuvenate. If you are a tourist, Lansdowne will disappoint you. But, if you are an aimless wanderer, who loves to sleep on boulders, click pine trees and trek endlessly, you are surely in for a treat.

Situated in the Garwal region of Uttarakhand, Lansdowne is the army cantonment area dedicated to the Gharwal rifles. One can take the night train or bus to Kotdwara and then a taxi to Lansdowne. Fighting the odds, of reaching at 4am at Lansdowne, I checked in a hotel- close to the taxi stand. It turned out to be a good decision as it turned out to be quite centrally located. When I went to the window, the first sight was that of a shooting star! Well thats a delight for me, as this is only the second time in my life I have seen a shooting star! With optimism brimming, I retired to bed, looking forward to the day that awaited me.

Having heard the morning beagle as army men started their day, I started mine with a walk to Bhulla Lake. Quite an ordinary lake by the look of it, Bhulla is a tourist sport for everyone to enjoy a quick boat ride. While I did my share of the ride, I enjoyed more while sunbathing and getting a 360 Degree view of the tall pine trees on the edges.

IMG_5042 IMG_5073 IMG_5055

20141108_115557_resized IMG_5078

I then trekked to the highest point of Lansdowne- The Tip n Top, but instead of the conventional road route which is long, I went through the jungle, crossed some houses and viola! reached tip and top. By the way, one should definitely try this, but only during the day and not venture too deep. Caution is a must.

Even before I reached Tip and Top, I ended up taking a nap on a boulder, high up on a hill. The views were spectacular, and the sun comforting! Incidently, the boulder was near the St Mary Church

IMG_5140 IMG_5143 20141108_155053_resized

From hereon, started another journey of walks and treks- through the hills, next to the rivulet, over the boulders and across the jungles. My next stop was on the Bhim Pakora. The marvel here is that the two rocks at this spot are balancing in a way that they shake, but never fall. To most, its a disappointing walk, ending at nothing. For me, it ended at two boulders, where I could take my next nap!

After spending more than two hours there, it was self service time! Selfie with the Pakora

20141109_124635_resized

Apart from the walks, I made some friends. The most spectacular one was aama, an old lady from the village who insisted I have tea with her while she told me stories about her escapades with two travelers from Canada. She was a wonderful lady! Apart from that, food in lansdowne is average but pahadi chicken/veg at La Osh, is a must! Also, have water the pahadi way and visit Kaleshwar Mandir where most of the idols are kept outside the temple!

IMG_5219 

20141109_095512_resized 20141109_142817_resized_1

If you want to go to Lansdowne, go to do nothing. Sleep on boulders, and trek through jungles. Let life surprise you in another way!

13 thoughts on “Doing nothing in Lansdowne

  1. Hi Kaushik. Lansdowne is overnight from here. i took bus at 10 pm and reached at 4am i think 2D 1 N is enough. if you are a real trekker then keep 2N. but for 2N you can go to better places acc to me

    Like

  2. Akshitaaaa..I can never forget how you described Bheem pakora to me…’people said there is nothing to do there and yet I spent 2.5 hours there doing nothing’.. youre a traveler in true sense. keep inspiring!

    Like

Leave a comment