Great Learnings at Ajmer

With the long weekend approaching, I saw myself with no option but spending a few days at my uncle’s house with my cousins, until I ended up on a train to Ajmer. Since it was a quick plan, we were struggling with waitlist tickets until the last hour, our mind racing with numerous back up plans. Since we had opted for the (otherwise) most inconvenient train (starting from Delhi at 4:30am), our tickets confirmed and we saw ourselves enroute Delhi Cantt station. What followed was a series of OMG moments!

– The train stopped at the station for only two minutes. Our coach was B3, so we rushed and got on B1 only to realize that B3 was at least 7 coaches away from B1. While we considered crossing the coaches from inside, our plans failed for the shutters were down and we were forced to stay close to the coach gates until Gurgaon- the next station, which was at least half an hour far.
Learning: Run and catch your coach. It seems logical that B3 will be close to B1 but not necessary!

– Our train was running late by half an hour by the time we reached half way, so we decided to take another nap and set our alarms to 2:00pm. Being an ardent traveler that I am, I kept waking up now and then to see which station have reached. Goodness struck when I realized that we reached Ajmer at 1:30pm! I remember how hyper I got and woke up my uncle and sister
Learning: Indian Railways can make up for its time!

– We got off the station and took an auto to Circuit House, where our rooms were booked. Well apparently they were booked. We were caught off guard when the receptionist told us that rooms in Circuit house are never confirmed until you reach there since they need to cater to senior Govt officials on priority. Oops
Learning: Always have a back up!

Despite, this exciting start, we soon found ourselves in the luxurious rooms of CRPF Mess, in the outskirts of Ajmer. Though located far, the big property was a relief to the eyes and the three days at Ajmer were spent quite comfortably. At Ajmer, we planned to visit the usual Ajmer Dargah and also spent some time at the Dargah Bazaar shopping for the usual kajal and ittar. More in my blog: Ajmer- Like a Tourist

One thought on “Great Learnings at Ajmer

Leave a comment